Bright Stars FC defenders win inaugural FUFA Drum trophy in Arua


The FUFA Drum Final

2nd Leg
Saturday 6th October 2018
West Nile 1-1 Buganda
(Buganda wins 2-1 aggregate)

Bright Stars FC defenders Enock Walusimbi and Dan Birikwalira have won the inaugural FUFA Drum trophy with Buganda Province after a 1-1 draw  with West Nile at Green Light Stadium in Arua on Saturday evening.


Birikwalira as a captain of Buganda Province took the moment of the day with his clever runs on the left when he intercepted a pass inside West Nile half and successfully picked up skipper Vianne Sekakugo who slotted home an equaliser in the second half.

The leveller was the turning point for Buganda to lift the historical trophy since the first leg had ended 1-0 in favor of Buganda in Mukono a week ago.
Birikwalira managed to keep West Nile’s captain Vitalis Tabu out of the game for 90 minutes. He technically marked him out of the game as he also spared time to build dangerous attacks from the left combining well with Sekajugo and Brian Majwega.


On the other hand,  Enock Walusimbi had a tremendous performance in the center of Buganda’s defence. He was calm on the ball  and single handedly took care of Villa Oromochan who was a threat to Buganda and denied him a huge chance to grab the second for West Nile.

Birikwalira was chosen on the best XI team of the tournament and received UGX 1M.


‘I am delighted to win my first major trophy as a captain. We truly deserved it. We have been working hard as a team. I dedicate this morning to my Buganda Province, my coaches with the team and all the fans’ said Birikwalira

‘We are going to build on this success and take it to the club as we have three tough matches against Villa, KCCA FC and Onduparaka coming up in the league. I’m also happy that our manager Hussein has been encouraging us to use the tournament to improve on our game. It is a nice feeling’ said Walusimbi.

Walusimbi and Birikwalira played in a defence that conceded only 4 goals in the 8 knockout stage matches since quarterfinals.
A former Bright Stars FC goalkeeper Nicholas Sebwato was also on the winning team and named in the Best XI.

Buganda Province will also get 32m for emerging winners.

Buganda XI
Nicolas Sebwato, Kigongo Ronald, Dan Birikwalira, Enock Walusimbi, Savio Kabugo, Abudallah Nyanzi, Said Kyeyune, Shafik Kagimu, Vianne Sekajugo, Allan Kayiwa and Brian Majwega