Stanbic Uganda Cup Final: Wagima named best goalkeeper despite the Stars slipping in final on penalties


Stanbic Uganda Cup Final

Proline FC 1(5)-1(4) Bright Stars

Wagima named best goalkeeper despite slipping to Proline FC in penalties
Bright Stars FC goalkeeper Benson Wagima was named the best goalkeeper of the Stanbic Uganda Cup 2018-2019 despite the Stars slipping to Proline FC 5-4 on penalties during the final od the Stanbic Ugnda cup at Masaka Recreation Ground on Saturday.

Wagima made an outstanding role during the early rounds.

However, the entire team finished runner-up in the tournament that involved more than 100 clubs.

Bright Stars FC defender Sam Sekitto heading the ball during the final in Masaka

Nelson Senkatuka got the lead for the Stars in the 55th minute with a well taken free-kick from the left side. The skipper had earlier on been denied by Proline goalkeeper in a one on one situation.

Dan Birikwalira (blue) batling with Proline defender Mujuzi Musitafa in the final

As the game proceeded towards the end, Bright Stars FC right full back Agrrey Kirya was cautioned for the second time by referee Ali Sabila and was shown a red card in the 85th minute.

Skipper Nelson Senkatuka (blue) in action during the final

With one minute to fulltime Proline was awarded a penalty and the match drew level 1-1.
During kicks from the penalty mark, Sam Sekitto, Rajab Kakooza, Farouk Katongole, and Methodius Jungu all converted their kicks before skipper Senkatuka failed to hit the net.



Bright Stars FC striker Brian Kayanja launching an attack towards Proline defence in the final

‘My players had a good game. We were in control of the game until Kirya got a red card. That’s football  but we shall now focus on next season’ said Fred Kajoba Bright Stars FC head coach

This is the best performance for Bright Stars FC in history of Stanbic Uganda Cup

Bright Stars FC XI

Hamza Muwonge (GK), Aggrey Kirya, Sam Sekitto, Enock Walusimbi, Farouk Katongole, Enzama Brian, Rajab Kakooza, Jamil Kalisa, Brian Kayanja, Nelson Senkatuka, Dan Brikwalira
Wagima Benson (GK), Augustine Kacancu, James Angu, Methodius Jungu, Moses Okot, Juma Sebaduka, Henry Kiwanuka

Main Photo: Bright Stars FC goalkeeper Benson Wagima receiving his prize after emerging the best in the tournament.